What I’ve been up to

So for those of you who haven’t noticed, I’ve been away from Facebook for the past month and a half or so.  I took some time away to focus on determining where the Lord wants me to serve this summer (more on this later on in the post–scroll down if you just want to read that).  I’ve gotta tell ya–I really liked not having a Facebook and might get rid of it again.  Who knows–I like to keep people guessing.  So, as I come back into the Facebook world, I thought I’d update all of you wonderful people on what I’ve been doing for the past month and a half (since you haven’t been able to stalk me as easily =) ).

Well, I started this blog.  It is not insightful or great but serves as a way for me to get thoughts out there.

Of course there has been school…and lots of it.  I’ve also been giving a whole bunch of tours, teaching ballet to some precious little girls, and took on a third job (why am I crazy??) as a tele-counselor calling admitted and prospective students.  I finally admitted to myself and some of my friends that I’ve bitten off more than I can chew this semester.  If you know me, you know how incredibly difficult it is for me to actually admit that.

I went home in February to go to the FABULOUS Step Sing show at Samford to see some very talented friends; I ended up being able to go to two of the performances–such a lucky kid.  It was so wonderful to see some of most favorite people and talk life with them.

I miss these girls every day and am so blessed to have them in my life!
It was also great to go to Brookwood.  I seriously feel so encouraged just walking in the doors of that church.  Such wonderful people, such wonderful family, such wonderful Tribe.  Micah’s lessons in Sunday School always make me think and hit me where I am, and Dr. B’s sermons are always so great and relevant with my life.  Love that place, love those people.

We had homecoming week here at Georgia College, which is always a fun time.  My favorite part of the whole shebang was working the Class of 1961 Reunion dinner.  Man, those ladies rock!  It was so neat to hear what GC was like back in the day and just hang out with some of our most wonderful alumnae.  Sure, having B.o.B here was neat, but I preferred celebrating the class of 1961’s 50th reunion.  Also, don’t you love these new Bobcat statues??

Twins, as always.

The three of us just love the Bobcats and plan to take pictures with alllllll the statues.

A couple weekends ago, my wonderful roommate and I went on a super fun road trip.  We started off going to Kennesaw to spend the night with my Aunt Lisa.  Then the next morning, we drove to Roswell for the Wiphan Warthog Waddle.  Never heard of Wiphan?  Click that link and read about them–such a great organization with an awesome heart.  LOVE it.  The highlight of mine and Amanda’s weekend was getting to meet Andrea, one of the founding supporters of Wiphan.

This lady ROCKS!  She has four precious children, the youngest being Isaac who they adopted from Ethiopia.  Second favorite moment of the weekend?  Seeing Andrea’s second youngest, Frank, waddle his way through the 1k race all by himself–so precious!

Frank and his daddy!!

After the Waddle, Amanda and I made a pitstop to try on bridesmaid dresses because, oh yeah, MY ROOMMATE IS ENGAGED!  So excited about this. September 24. Yeah!!  After this, we headed on to Social Circle to see Aunt Mary and Uncle Mike and to eat dinner with the Hoovers.  Such a fun night! You know it’s a party when Uncle Mike brings a  TV to the dinner table during dessert so we can watch a George Harrison concert from the 70s.  The next morning, we went to The Avenue for church.  Absolutely loved Craig Groeschel’s message about our duty as Christians to be salt and light. Such a great reminder about being used where we are with what we’ve got (and considering we have Jesus–oh the possibilities!).

Last weekend was a crazy one!  Friday afternoon, Julia, Krissy, and I loaded up and headed to Peachtree City for Amanda’s graduation/goodbye party.  It was so good.  I have been blessed with some absolutely incredible friends who love the Lord SO MUCH and are such an encouragement in my life.

bestfriends.

This was such a bittersweet time.  I’m so excited about this opportunity for Amanda, but I’m also super jealous of all the people who are going to get spend time with her while she’s in Boston.  Amanda is one of the best listeners I know, and I’m so blessed to call her a friend and sister in Christ.  I can’t wait to see how the Lord uses her through her job with Delta!

Saturday was Springfest, which is always a fun and tiring day.  Highlight of the day?  Taking a picture with the bobcat in front of Atkinson, of course!

Now for the exciting part….

If you don’t want to read everything but just want to know about my summer start here.

So this summer.  Wow.  I don’t even know where to start.  Last summer, I worked CentriKid. And I loved it.  I grew so much in my own faith and met people who are now some of my best and closet friends.

CK6 2010

Camp was hard in every way–physically, emotionally, spiritually.  But it was so worth it.  I’ve never had to fully rely on the Lord for strength so much. It was great.  At the end of the summer when asked if working camp, I said something along the lines of, “Yeah! That’s the plan as of now–but there’s no telling what God can do in a year.”  That was all fine and dandy until the last part just disappeared.  I stopped praying about the summer and just assumed that’s where I was supposed to be.  That all changed about the time I went to Passion.  I started praying earnestly about where I was supposed to be, where the Lord wanted me to serve.  Like I wrote about a few weeks ago, in this time I made some ballin’ plans and continued to seek wisdom.  With each plan, a new one came soon after, just confusing me.  I knew I wasn’t supposed to be working camp all summer (which was hard to admit–I wanted it to be an Abraham and Isaac moment where, right when I went to press send on the email to CK, God stopped it) but didn’t know what to do.  Throughout all of this, I was quite aware that I’m supposed to spend some time overseas this summer working with orphans in some capacity.

Back to the beginning–this summer.  I am thrilled to say that I will be serving as the children’s ministry intern at my home church, Brookwood.  God has been doing such great things through Lindsey, and I can’t wait to be a part of it.  After this crazy semester, it will be nice to have some time at home.  I’ll also be able to go to Pine Hill.  It was SO HARD for me to be at camp last year during the Pine Hill trip and no one quite understood just how hard that was for me.  ALSO, Lindsey is all for me taking a trip overseas this summer.  At the Warthog Waddle, Andrea said she was planning on a Wiphan trip in July and would love for me to go.  How cool is that?? And actually, as I was typing this post up, I got an email about this trip and am now even more excited about this summer because I’M GOING TO ZAMBIA!!!!  I will definitely update yall as I get details.  I am just in awe of God’s plan, sovereignty, and answers.  So good.  All of this came together so quickly.  Sunday night I was SO upset.  All my friends working camp found out where there will be and what they will be doing, and I had no clue. I was so distraught because I did what I thought God wanted me to do and ended up miserable.  Then Monday happened.  Now I’m serving at BBC.  Then Tuesday night/Wednesday morning happened.  Now I’m going to Africa.  WOW.  So pumped.

This whole time I’ve been trusting in Proverbs 16:3:

Commit your work to the LORD,
and your plans will be established.

Whatever I’m doing, as long as it’s for God’s glory, He will establish my plans.  What good is sitting around and moping going to do?  Work, and work hard…but make sure it’s for the Lord (Colossians 3:23).

If you read this whole thing, you get a gold star….or seven of them.  At least there were pictures!

Leave a Reply

