Good Question…

So first off, I am the worst at blogging.  It’s been a long semester.  But it’s OVER now!  Oh hey, summer…oh hey, SENIOR YEAR!  Whoa. I’m a senior.  I’m not nearly mature enough for that.  Good thing most other seniors in college aren’t mature either.
For some reason, I decided it would be a good idea to take 18 hours and have 3 jobs this semester, plus all of my extra-curricular activities.  I’m really good with decisions…but I made it!!  It wasn’t easy, it wasn’t always fun, but it’s over.  And I didn’t fail any classes, that’s always a plus.

To celebrate the end of the year, my friend (and roommate for next year!!!!!!!!!) and I went to a Matt Wertz and Ben Rector show in Atlanta.  Don’t know their music? You better get on that!  They’re great.

 

Before we left for Atlanta, we went to lunch.  Let me just say, I love a good (cheap) lunch with a good (wise) friend.  During lunch, she said something along the lines of, “So what do you think is the biggest thing the Lord taught you this year?”  WHOA.  This is something I wasn’t surprised to be asked but wasn’t completely prepared to answer.  Because of that, I keep thinking of more and more that I’ve learned this year…so I’m going to share some of that with you (if anyone even reads this =)  ).

Insecure and a Perfectionist
Yup.  That’s me.  I am so insecure in just about everything I do.  In all of my endeavors (even my walk with Christ), I am so concerned that I’m going to mess up, that I’m not good enough to do it, whatever “it” might be.  With that, I get really down on myself when something isn’t done perfectly.  If I mess up one little detail (one little grade), I get upset.  I want things perfect.  Newsflash Eliz:  you’re HUMAN!!!  Things aren’t going to perfect, I’m not perfect (Romans 3:23).  Still, I struggle with this.  I struggle with finding my security and my worth in the Lord and His great plans for me.  Rather, I tend to find my worth in earthly things, in what other people think of me.

The Past is in the Past!
This is something that has been on my mind and heart for the past couple months.  As I mentioned before, I’m human and I tend to mess up…a lot.  However, I have a really hard time letting go of my mess-ups.  I hold grudges against myself.  Isaiah 43:18 says, “Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old.”  That doesn’t tend to be at the forefront of my mind.  Philippians 3:13 talks about “forgetting what lies behind.”  I tend to hold onto what I’ve done wrong and what I haven’t done right instead of focusing on the possibilities of the future.  Funny how in context those two verses talk about what’s to come.  Isaiah 43:19 says, “Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?…”  My focusing on the things of old and not recognizing the new thing the Lord is doing is kinda rude to Him.  Ooops…sorry, God.  Philippians 3:13 (and verse 14) goes on to say, “straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”  There it is again, looking towards the future, what the Lord has in store.
**Side note:  I went to The Avenue (which is part of the LifeChurch.tv Network) in Social Circle yesterday…naturally Craig Groeschel started a new series called “Getting Past Your Past.”  The Lord sure is intentional!

The Local Church is Where it’s At
No really…the local church is so important!  I know there are ways to be fed and learn and get solid teaching without going to a church with things like podcasts, books, and worship services that stream online, and these are GREAT resources (and I definitely recommend taking advantage of them–I sure do!).  However, getting plugged into a church body, is vital.  I’ve seen the importance of this in several adults in my life this year…really good people that I love that have become involved in a local church recently.  You can tell a difference in them.  They talk differently.  Mainly, they talk about their faith and what they’re learning.  They talk about wanting to get involved in missions.  SO COOL!!  This is big for me as I begin to determine where the Lord wants me to be plugged in.  Where should I serve?  Who should I serve alongside?  Where will I be fed and taught?   Also along these lines, I am so pumped about being at my very favorite local church in just a couple weeks!  Watch out, Brookwood, I’m comin’ at ya!  Everyday I think about how blessed I am to have been brought up in such an amazing church.

So those are just a few of the things that the Lord has taught me this year, although I’m sure I’ll think of more later.  I’d love to hear what you’ve been learning!

Leave a Reply

