So What’s After Graduation?

That’s a really great question.

And I wish I could tell you the answer.

But I can’t.

I wish I had a crystal ball that I could peer into and see what my future looks like.  But that’s not the way life works, now is it?  And really, where’s the fun in that?  Knowing EXACTLY what’s around every corner would get super boring, super quick.  So I guess it’s good that I don’t have that magical crystal ball.

But I still seem to get the “So you’re a senior now, what’s next?” question a lot.  In the past, I would say whatever I was feeling at the time.  “Children’s minister!”  “International missions!”  “Seminary!”  “Adopt every orphan in the world!”  “All of the above!”  Now I just say something along the lines of, “Good question.”  Or I’ll just shrug and say, “We’ll see” or “Who knows?”  Sassy?  Maybe.  Truthful? Definitely.  I’m up for anything.  I’m just feeling things out and asking for guidance from the One who knows what’s best for me, the One who already has that all planned out (see Jeremiah 29:11).

But I’m going to be completely honest.  I’m reeeeeeally selfish…and reeeeeally materialistic.  And it hurts me that I’m like that because those qualities are frustrating enough in other people.

Before I felt the call to children’s ministry around my junior year in high school, I had lots of nifty little plans.  The winner around that time was to be some type of CEO, preferably for Chick-fil-A.  I wanted to be CEO Barbie (or Teresa, I guess…I couldn’t be a blond), telling people what to do, having control of a boardroom, and making LOTS of money.  I wanted to be able to buy what I wanted, when I wanted, without having to think about it.  That Audi TT convertible, a huge house, and fancy trips around the world.  Then God was like, “Hey. Children’s ministry.”  And I was like, “Okay that makes sense.”  And I’ve been gung-ho ever since!

Except for when I get selfish and materialistic.  Then I want to put the Management degree I’m working towards to work so that I can travel the world and all that jazz.

But then I remember that I would just continue to live in my frustration of materialism and selfishness…and when you willingly prance around in your sin, God isn’t happy….and I don’t want that (I mean seriously, I’m reading the Old Testament…have you read what He’s done?? Our God is BIG and POWERFUL).

So what’s after graduation?  Good question.  I’ll let you know when I know.  I’ll tell you one thing, I’m probably not going to be the CEO of a Fortune 500 company or CFA (although the idea of free number 1’s and spicy chicken sandwiches sounds splendid).

BUT you know what’s a BILLION times better than millions of dollars and free CFA for life? Telling precious kiddos about Jesus every day for the rest of my life.  Growing with them, learning with them, being taught by them.  Whether that’s in a big city in the U.S., a big city in India, a little podunk town in the States, a little podunk town across the world or anywhere and everywhere in between, I’m there.

Until then, it’s Proverbs 16:3 for me:  Commit your work to the LORD, and your plans will be established.

Leave a Reply

