Perseverence (And a Homecoming Recap)

Well, I am the worst blogger ever.  I have started posts. But then I don’t finish them.  I guess that says something about me.

Last fall, I wrote a post titled “The Satisfaction of Meeting a Goal.”  Reading through the Word in a year was a big one…and a difficult one to complete.  Last semester, I started a “Milledgeville Bucket List.”  One of the things on the list was to run the Bobcat Ramble, a 5K that is a part of Georgia College’s Homecoming Week.  If you know anything about me, it’s probably that I am not athletic, and I do not run (unless it’s for free t-shirts or cupcakes).  Well, this brought on a new goal:  learn to run…over three miles.  My wonderful, encouraging, precious friend Kelsey started training me in mid-January, staring from scratch–I couldn’t even run a mile at first!  I’m happy to say, another goal has been completed!! Yesterday, I ran the Bobcat Ramble (without walking at all) in less than 35 minutes!  I’m not gonna lie–I’m pretty proud of myself.

The other day I was praying through some things and the Lord really made a connection between running and perseverance in life and faith.  Running hurts. It wears me out. I have to have motivation and encouragement to get through it…I need people cheering me on.  I have to push past my comfort zone, go farther than I think I can. Sometimes, when I’m running uphill, I slow down significantly and don’t think I’m going to make it.  But then, I get to the top, and it’s smooth sailing…at least until the next hill.

This is so similar to life and my walk with the Lord!  Sometimes it really sucks to push through and it feels like everything I do is useless and has no meaning, like I’m not making any kind of impact or I’m failing…but the Lord always comes through. He always prevails.

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters,whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.  Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be
mature and complete,not lacking anything.

James 1:2-4

As Christians, we aren’t called to an easy life.  It’s not all going to be rainbows and butterflies and unicorns and magical things.  There will be hard times.   We must not let the hard things bring us down.  Instead, “consider it pure joy.”  Trials are a chance to learn and grow.  Persevere through it.


I mentioned that the Ramble is part of Homecoming Week. I must say, this has been SUCH a fun week. I am blessed to go to an AMAZING university with the most wonderful people. I’ll leave you with some pictures from the week.

Third Eye Blind Concert

Pre-Ramble

Before the Bobcat Ramble

Homecoming Parade

My roommate and I love Georgia College!

SAO!

We're a family.

We're still winners!

 

So what’s the next race I’m running? The Wiphan Warthog Waddle, of course! Run with me!!

Leave a Reply

