I Don’t Have it All Together

I graduate college in 68 days.

Whoa.

Sixty eight days.

HOLY COW.

Lately, a lot of people have been asking me what I’m doing “after this” or “next.”  I love telling people about Wiphan and the opportunity I have to serve with them in Ndola.  Sometimes people look at me like I’m crazy.  Some people say, “Oh well that’s great!”  Some people are just curious and ask a whole bunch of questions (that I seriously love answering).  One person even told me I was basically going to be a beggar (that’s been my favorite response).

When people ask me questions, I try to be honest with them.  I tell them, “Yeah, I know it will be really challenging, but I’m just so excited about this awesome opportunity!”

Lately, I’ve (obviously) been thinking a lot about Africa and the time I’ll be spending there.  I keep it together pretty well when I tell people I know it will be challenging, but on the inside? I’m kinda more like this: iefhikwhnfwikOWIRGHVWJKNSFCEKLSZMCtfioeksdhgnviakshdgnvkshdgvSGKHNVJSKDNVZ!!!!!

  • I’m not equipped.
  • I’m not ready.
  • Where will the money come from?
  • People are going to think it’s dumb that I’m graduating college and asking for money.
  • Why do I care so much what other people think?
  • What about this whole “I don’t speak Bemba” thing?
  • What if I get sick?
  • All my friends are going to forget about me.

That’s a little bit of my thought process during the freak-out times…and those times are quite often.  But then I remember Who I must trust to equip me and provide for me…Who I should be finding my satisfaction in.  Matthew 6:25-31 reminds us not be anxious or worried; the Lord will provide for us.  Proverbs 16:3 also tells us that if we commit our work to the Lord, He will guide our steps and point us in the right direction.

So that’s where I am now. I am excited…I am SO excited.  I know the Lord is going to do incredible things, and I cannot wait to see those things and share the stories with my friends and family stateside.  But I’m nervous, too.  But I think that’s good…and natural.

That’s just me…being honest with you.  Now I’ll go back to working on my support letter.  Let me know if you’d like one or if you know someone who might be interested!

3 thoughts on “I Don’t Have it All Together

  1. Elizabeth,
    I know that God has placed this country on your heart for a specific purpose…to make His name famous and to share His love with the people there. I am so excited to see what amazing things God is going to do through you while you are in Africa.

    Btw…out of all the people in the world you are the least likely to be forgotten. You have impacted more than you know! I am so happy to call you a friend.

    Praying for you!

Leave a Reply

