Wiphan Internship!

I hope that, wherever you are, it’s as beautiful as it is in Milledgeville!  Sunny skies, warm weather…perfection.  I spent part of my afternoon sitting on my front porch swing drinking sweet tea, studying James 3, and talking with friends.

Does it get much better than that??  I’m trying to soak up these last couple months in Milly–I’m truly going to miss it here.

BUT I am SO excited about the opportunity to serve with Wiphan this summer.  Below is a letter that I sent out to some friends and family about this journey. If you have a second, read it to find out what’s going on as I finish the semester and prepare for the summer.

 

Wow!  What a year it has been already!  I can’t believe that my final semester of college has finally arrived.  On May 5th, I will graduate from Georgia College with a Bachelors of Business Administration in Management with a Dance Minor.  That day will be the epitome of bittersweet; I will miss Milledgeville, Georgia College, and the community I’ve been blessed with here but am so excited to see what all the Lord has in store for the future. 

            As you know, last summer, I had the opportunity to travel to Ndola, Zambia, with Wiphan Care Ministries (www.wiphan.org) for ten days.  It was an absolutely unbelievable time. I saw incredible joy come from children who have, at least in our standards, absolutely nothing. I saw teachers who care deeply for their students and want to see them succeed.  I saw widows, strong though they’ve been through so much, raising not just their own children but also other’s.  I saw precious little ones who have been through more in their eleven years of life than I will probably ever have to face.  Seeing all this and more opened my eyes (and my heart).  After seeing the faces, hearing the stories, holding the hands…you can’t not be changed.

            This summer, I will be traveling back to Ndola to serve with Wiphan for two months.   Considering I feel called to go into long-term missions and work with non-profits, this is an excellent opportunity.  While there, I will be doing an assortment of things.  One of my tasks will be to observe Wiphan’s current operating procedures and see if there are any possible improvements that can be made along the way. What a cool way to use my management major!

I am eager to see the people I interacted with last year and share with them the hope and life that comes with trusting Jesus.   My goal in life is derived from Isaiah 1:17:  “Learn to do good; seek justice, correct oppression; bring justice to the fatherless, plead the widow’s cause.”  I firmly believe the Lord will use my time in Ndola to steer me towards a life that reflects this.

            I am asking for you to join me in this journey.  There are a couple ways you may do this.  First off, you can partner with me by supporting me financially.  I am working this semester and also have money in savings that I am going to use but could really use your help.   Instructions for donating can be found enclosed with this letter.  Secondly, and most importantly, I covet your prayers during this time.  As I am finishing up my time at Georgia College, pray that I remain focused and allow the Lord to use me where I am now.  Also pray for the other interns and myself, that our hearts are being prepared to do ministry together and for what we will see while in Ndola.  Pray for Wiphan—the students, teachers, and support staff as well as those keeping things running smoothly stateside. 

Thank you for your time and your support.  I am so undeservingly blessed and am eager to share these blessings with friends across the globe.  To stay updated, subscribe to my blog—smallpartbigstory.wordpress.com!

 

Thanks for taking the time to read this.  I’d love to talk to you, your church, Bible Study group, etc. in more detail!  If you are interested in supporting me financially, you can write a check made out to Wiphan, and mail it to

Elizabeth Bryant
605 Forrest Drive
Homewood, AL 35209

OR click here.  Select “No subscription” as the sponsorship type and “Trips” as the donation fund.  Then put “Elizabeth Bryant” in the comments box.

Have a WONDERFUL day!

Leave a Reply

