Zambia!

After a long journey that took me to Atlanta, Buffalo, Chicago, London, and Lusaka, I am finally in Ndola, where I will be spending the next two and a half months.  Since we had a long layover in London, we took the Tube to see one of Kristi’s friends who took us to lunch at a pub called The Dove that is right on the Thames River.  We sat outside to eat our fish and chips and enjoyed the beautiful day (a rare thing in London!).  After that, we headed back to the airport to catch our ten-hour flight to Lusaka.  When we finally got here, we dropped off our stuff at home and went in to Isubilo where the kids were having their weekly Saturday meeting.  I’m really excited to meet them all and really get to know them this starting this week.  After that we headed back home to get unpacked and settled in.  Our house is great!  It’s the guesthouse of a missionary couple that lives here in Ndola and does ministry in some other places as well.  After getting unpacked, we ran to Pick n Pay to get some groceries for the next few days and then ran by the airport to pick up one of my suitcases that didn’t make it on our flight here.  For dinner, we went over to Hannah and Allison’s house for a delicious meal!  I enjoyed hearing about some of the various ministries in Ndola and how they reach people here.  After dinner we headed home to finally go to bed; after over 40 hours of traveling, I was ready to get more than two hours of sleep and to lay in a bed!

Today I’ve just been hanging around at home, reading and putting stuff away. Resting up today to head to Isubilo for the day tomorrow—can’t wait!

The house where I’ll be living.

The view from my room!

4 thoughts on “Zambia!

  1. glad you are there safe and sound…looks like you will be living ok for 2 months…don’t work to hard we all miss you here. Fred jus said this morning what a wondeful women you have turned into. we love you

  2. What a beautiful little cottage… with a POOL, no less! I know you are excited about working with the children and exploring your options for service while there. I know I’m looking forward to hearing how things are going and progressing – and all the wonderful things God is and will be doing in your life while you are there. Once again – I couldn’t be a prouder aunt if I tried – you know you’re my favorite, right?!?! I love you…

  3. Hi Elizabeth, I was so surprised to see your beautiful living arrangements. I was thinking dirt and dust! I’m excited for you and can’t wait to hear and see more. I know God will use you in a mighty way as you minister to everyone you meet in Zambia.

  4. Hi Elizabeth. What a delight reading your news letter. The cottage is adorable! Blessings to you as your work with these children. So, you will know who I am, I worked with Lisa a Cork-Howard and my niece is “Elizabeth” you got to know at Georgia College. She graduated from Georgia this past June. Take care!
    Patricia HIlscher

Leave a Reply

