You Make Beautiful Things

Since I last updated my blog, I’ve spent most of my days at Isubilo putting together puzzles, playing lots of Connect 4, and getting to know the kids even better.  One day, however, Moses (one of the extra lessons volunteers), came up to me around lunchtime, handed me a book, and told me I would need to teach a science lesson that afternoon. Oh boy.  I was not ready for that one! I looked through the book and found a subject I thought I could handle—mammals.  The lesson went okay and in our extra time, we did some math work.  I learned I am much better at reviewing math than teaching science!

I also learned that I am always eager to say that I love a challenge, but I tend to have a mini, internal come-a-part when one comes my way.  I’ve come to realize that I just haven’t really faced all that many challenges in my life.  Yes, there have been hard times, but not as many as I seem to think I’ve encountered.  I’m learning about where I need to turn when something challenging comes my way, Who to turn to.  I’m learning not to try and rely on my own strength because I really have none.  Instead I need to turn to the One who is my Strength and my Rock.

The other night we had some people over for dinner; it’s so great to have community with missionaries from all over the world!  There was music playing in the background and Beautiful Things by Gungor came on.  If you’ve never heard this song, you need to go listen to it right now!  In the song, it says:

You make beautiful things, You make beautiful things out of dust.  You make beautiful things, You make beautiful things out of us.

I’ve heard this song tons of times but something struck me this time.  You see, Africa is dusty.  There is dirt everywhere, and when the wind blows, you see some neat mini dirt tornadoes.  I oftentimes see kids covered in dirt from head to toe.  For one thing, a lot of the kids don’t have shoes so they walk around barefooted.  Also, they just don’t really care that their faces have dirt all over them.  When I was listening to this song the other day, I thought about some of those dirt covered faces and the wonderful things that they could do one day, as I have met some incredibly intelligent kids in the past two weeks.

When Skyping with my dear, dear friend Krissy last week, she asked me how I reconcile in my heart what I’m seeing—the poverty, the orphans the living conditions.  The truth is, I can’t. Because it’s so difficult to think about and because it makes me angry with God that I never face challenges but these little ones do day in and day, I simply try to not think about it most of the time.  It hurts my heart that even though there are some brilliant kids here with so much potential, they might never go to college…that there are children here who are no doubt loads smarter than most people in universities across America (who take their education for granted).  It’s not fair, and it doesn’t make sense.

In my life, I want to do everything possible so that children aren’t overlooked and forgotten simply because of where they are born.  I want to see them come to the full potential the Lord has given them.  God doesn’t gift us based on where we’re from and who are family is made up of; He loves us all the same.

I want the world to see the beauty that comes from the dust.

Here is a picture from our hike to the top of Prayer Mountain this evening:

 

Leave a Reply

