Count it All Joy

Estamos en Iquitos! I am still having a hard time comprehending the fact that this is my third time here in the past year.

Yesterday we met at the Birmingham airport to fly directly to Miami where we had an overnight layover before our flight to Peru this morning. At the gate, we found out our flight was overweight so one person was not going to be getting on the plane. They asked for volunteers, but no one was budging (apparently lots of people wanted to get to Miami yesterday!). Eventually, we decided I’d rent a car and drive to Atlanta to catch a flight to Miami. Somehow, I got checked into my Atlanta flight, got into a rental car, drove to Atlanta, dropped off the car, rode to the terminal, got through security, and got to the gate just before they started boarding the flight. This all happened in less than 4 hours. Praise. The. Lord. Seriously.

Since I had a few minutes, I spent some time in James 1 and Matthew 6. If you know me at all, I am a planner, and I don’t like unscheduled change. Yesterday afternoon the Holy Spirit had my back. I was continually thinking “count it all joy when you face trials of many kinds,” “do not be anxious,” “being anxious and worried is not going to help this situation at all.” I’m grateful that the Lord is growing me and helping me learn not to sweat the small stuff…even though I have a looooong way to go. 🙂

I’m so excited to see what the Lord does through our team this week. We’re a diverse bunch with translators, national leaders, and 17 Americans. What a blessing it is to partner with e3 to take teams down the Amazon River to share the Gospel! How crazy is it that the Lord lets us partner with Him in what He is doing? 2 Corinthians 5:19 says, “…in Christ God was reconciling the world to himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and entrusting to us the message of reconciliation.” Verse 20 goes on to say we are ambassadors for Christ. We, as Christians, have been entrusted to share in this ministry with the Lord. I hope I never stop being baffled by the fact that the Creator of the universe, of the heavens and the earth, has entrusted me with sharing His message with the world. Whoa.

Tomorrow we head to Pucallpa for our first day of clinic and evangelism. We’re grateful for your prayers this week and can’t wait to share what we learn and see!

Continue steadfastly in prayer, being watchful in it with thanksgiving. At the same time, pray also for us, that God may open to us a door for the word, to declare the mystery of Christ, on account of which I am in prison–that I may make it clear, which is how I ought to speak. Walk in wisdom towards outsiders, making the best use of the time. Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer each person.
Colossians 4:2-6

Leave a Reply

