One Week In

I’ve been in Zambia for over a week now, although I feel like I haven’t been home in a month.  The past few days have been full of hanging out with kids, trying to learn Bemba, playing outside, meeting new people, trying new things, going new places, and of course, learning.  I’m starting to feel more at home here and am grateful for the community that the Lord is providing.

Today, I helped do some cleaning around the CYC.  When I got one bag off the shelf and set it down, it kept moving on its own.  Having been warned mice like to get in the boxes and bags, I left that one alone.  I felt quite dumb not opening it myself and was scared I was going crazy and that there wouldn’t be anything there when someone opened it.  Turns out, I’m not crazy!  There was a nest of 10-15 little baby mice in the bag along with some eaten up jerseys.  I can handle germs and dirt and blood but mice….not so much.

This afternoon we did some more cleaning, then I hung out with the kids after they finished a test they took in extra lessons.  Today we all learned how to play Connect 4.  It was so much fun!  Several of the kids caught on really quick and whenever someone won they’d say (in their precious accents), “I am the winner!”  Loved it.

My highlight was when Charles (an 18 year old who is starting Grade 5 soon and has been very, very sick in the past) beat me.  He was so proud and had the biggest smile on his face…I did, too!  This kid has been through a lot but has a gentle, loving, and resilient spirit.   He doesn’t speak much English (we’re working on it!), but I absolutely love spending time with him…he can teach me so much!

Yesterday in church, Psalm 144 was referenced; the wording in verses 1 and 2 in the ESV really hit me.

Blessed be the LORD, my rock, who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle; he is my steadfast love and my fortress, my stronghold and my deliverer, my shield and he in whom I take refuge, who subdues peoples under me.

The Lord is continually equipping us for what He has in store.  Life is not going to be easy, it will be a battle against Satan the ways of the world, but we have a loving Savior who is with us every step of the way.  I pray that each day I remember that it is His strength, not my own, that gets me through–that He is the place of refuge for my soul.

2 thoughts on “One Week In

  1. Sweet Eliz!!! I miss you greatly. This may be a dumb question, but do you have an address where I can send you something?

Leave a comment